A Campus Stroll

dooratuccI walked the campus of University College Cork this week. Some of the buildings, made of stone, have the feel of the ancient, but UGA’s Old College predates them all, I think. UCC, as it’s called here, opened in 1845. I walked through the main gate, flanked on the right by a branch of the River Lee, which was moving swiftly but serenely past me, a mallard pair flying low over the water. Some students were about, but the main areas were far from crowded, and I enjoyed a meandering stroll, free of the concerns that would have preoccupied me during my years on the UGA faculty.

Leave a Reply

